Starke County Commissioners Discuss Future of Kankakee River Basin Commission Posted on May 29, 2019 Author: Anita Goodan

The Kankakee River Basin Commission will be under a new name and new membership following the passage of House Bill 1270 in this session of the state legislature. 

The newly-named Kankakee River Basin and Yellow River Basin Development Commission now only has nine members instead of the three representatives from each of the eight counties within the river basin which include Newton, Jasper, La Porte, Porter, Starke, Marshall, St. Joseph, and Kosciusko Counties.  The new organization will also include a representative from the Indiana Department of Natural Resources as its ninth member. 

The Starke County Commissioners will need to make an appointment soon.  The appointee will serve two years and should have experience in drainage design, project management, construction and other qualifications.  County Surveyor Bill Crase and Engineer Lee Nagai have expressed interest in the position.  All interested candidates can turn in a resume to the Starke County Commissioners at 53 E. Mound Street in Knox. 

Kankakee River Basin and Yellow River Basin Development Commission Executive Director and former State Representative Scott Pelath is expected to update county officials on the House Bill in an upcoming meeting.  The commissioners anticipate learning more about the assessment fee to be paid by residents that is expected to pay for projects and studies along the rivers, and to obtain federal grants.